We provide the iPhone 8 Manual/User Guide, tips and tricks with tutorial. Get iPhone 8 setup guide or manual instructions. Download iPhone 8 Manual PDF.

iPhone 8 Factory Reset to Erase All Content

iPhone 8 Factory Reset to Erase All Content

iPhone 8 Factory Reset to Erase All Content
iPhone 8 Factory Reset to Erase All Content - Restore your iPhone 8 or iPhone 8 Plus to factory settings A factory restore erases the information and settings on your iPhone 8 or iPhone 8 Plus and installs the latest version of iOS software.

iPhone 8 Factory Reset to Erase All Content

Resetting an iPhone can alleviate all sort of software woes, and wipe any info you might want to pass on. Get your device ready

Check that you have the latest version of iTunes on your Mac or PC. If you can't access a computer and your device still works, you can erase and restore your device without a computer, checkout How To Force Reset iPhone

If you want to save the information on your iPhone, iPad, or iPod, make a backup.
  • Go to Settings > iCloud. Turn off Find My iPhone. For an unresponsive device or one that won't turn on, learn how to reset iPhone 8.

Restore iPhone 8 to factory settings
  1. Open iTunes on your Mac or PC. If you can't access a computer and your device still works, you can erase and restore your device without a computer.
  2. Connect your iPhone, iPad, or iPod to your computer with the cable that came with your device.
  3. If a message asks for your device passcode or to Trust This Computer, follow the onscreen steps. If you forgot your iPhone 8 forgot the passcode, get help.
  4. Select your iPhone, iPad, or iPod when it appears in iTunes. For an unresponsive device or one that won't turn on, learn what to do. Or get help if your device doesn't appear in iTunes.
  5. In the Summary panel, click Restore [device].
  6. Click Restore again to confirm. Then iTunes erases your device and installs the latest iOS or iPod software.
  7. After your device restores to factory settings, it restarts. Now you can set it up as new.

How to Erase All Content on iPhone 8
How to Erase All Content on iPhone 8

Learn how to wipe information from your iPhone 8, iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch and restore your device to factory settings.

Follow these iPhone manuals

Depending on your device, it can take a few minutes to completely erase your data. You might need to enter your passcode and Apple ID password before you erase all content and settings.

If you don't remember your passcode for your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch, or your device is disabled, learn what to do. Or get help if your iPhone 8 forgot the passcode.

Erase All Content and Settings from your iPhone
  • On your iPhone 8 or iPhonr 8 Plus, go to Settings > General > Reset. Then tap Erase All Content and Settings.
Before you erase your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch with iOS 11, make sure that you sign out of iCloud. Otherwise, your device might remain in Activation Lock. Learn what to do if you erased your device and need to turn off Activation Lock on your iOS device.
  1. In iOS 10.3 or later, go to Settings > [your name] > Sign Out.
  2. In iOS 10.2 or earlier, go to Settings > iCloud > Sign Out.

Erasing the content and settings on your Apple Watch doesn't remove Activation Lock. You need to unpair it from your iPhone or delete it from Find My iPhone.

If you don’t remember your Restrictions passcode or can’t access the Restrictions settings for your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch, use iTunes to restore your device to factory settings.